Is Milk Really Doing My Body Good?

Hey kids, it’s your girl Charish, making a food decree. Evelyn and I do this from time to time. The last food decree made was by Ev and her cutting out the sweets. She succeeded and she has inspired me to cut some stuff out of my diet too! I’m a full blown lactose intolerant and I think it’s finally time for me to say goodbye to DAIRY. 

I don’t drink milk anymore, I haven’t had a glass of that in about a decade, but I do nosh on cheese occasionally. I’m also known not to turn down cheesecake, because I just don’t believe something that delicious is killing me. Not literally killing me, but I feel it’s effects almost immediately. I’m knocked out, bloated, in stomach pain and swearing all food off until the next cheese attack.


I know you’re out there saying, “But Charish, aren’t there Lactaid pills you could be taking?” There are and I have, and still, I’ve wondered if they even work. I still feel a little crummy, not to same degree, but a little “not myself.”

I read on this Wheat and Dairy Intolerance website that people are allergic to the lactose or milk sugars in dairy products and that’s what the lactose enzyme pills are for. But there are others who are allergic to the milk proteins and there’s nothing you can do about that. Except to cut it out of your diet all together.

Whether it’s intolerance or a full-blown allergy, it’s still bad news bears. The dairy is considered a foreign body entering your body and making it turn on itself. The symptoms are:

  • Bloated belly
  • Gas
  • Abdominal cramps
  • Diarrhea 
  • Runny nose
  • Wheezing
  • Asthma
  • Itchy eyes
  • Weight Gain

All of the symptoms I have experienced, but I’m shocked to find weight gain on that list. But it’s true, the things we’re allergic to, we keep eating, because we’re addicted. The inflammation of the allergen, is literally blowing me up. I am getting inflamed and I don’t like it.

I know I’ve been gaining weight. In the last two and a half years since I’ve been back from Bangkok, Thailand, I have gained at least 20 pounds. I wondered why that was and I could pinpoint a serious dietary change. Dairy was almost non-existent in Bangkok. I never had milk or course, but I also never had cheese, my Achilles Heel. I also never had beef. Again, it was just a matter of cow resources.

When I got back to the states, my normal diet resumed. I had a cheese here, cream there, until I ballooned up. I got tired, puffy, had more acne, and definitely lost a flat belly.

I guess the long and short of it is, I’m off the dairy. Even though “40% of non-vegetarian Caucasians are allergic to some element of cow’s milk,” according to Dr. Manik G. Hiranandani, My husband Noah is a milk drinker and he’s totally fine with it. He’s the reason we still have gallons of it in the house. Dr Hiranandani also reports that 70-90% of African and Mongolian (Chinese) ethnic groups have an allergy or intolerance.

So there will be a 5 day challenge for me as well. No Dairy. Check out this listing of ingredients I found on
Hiranandani’s webite. I’ll let you know how much of a challenge this is tomorrow.

Given below is a list (in alphabetical order) of ingredients that contain some dairy ingredients.
  • Acidophilus Milk
  • Ammonium Caseinate
  • Butter
  • Butter Fat
  • Butter Oil
  • Butter Solids
  • Buttermilk
  • Buttermilk Powder
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Casein
  • Caseinate
  • Cheese
  • Condensed Milk
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Cream
  • Curds
  • Custard
  • Delactosed Whey
  • Demineralised Whey
  • Dry Milk Powder
  • Dry Milk Solids
  • Evaporated Milk
  • Gelatin
  • Ghee
  • Goat Milk
  • Hydrolyzed Casein
  • Hydrolyzed Milk Protein
  • iron Caseinate
  • Lactalbumin
  • Lactoferrin
  • Lactoglobulin
  • Lactose
  • Lactulose
  • Magnesium Caseinate
  • Malted Milk
  • Milk Derivative
  • Natural Butter Flavor
  • Nougat
  • Potassium Caseinate
  • Rennet Casein
  • Sodium Caseinate
  • Sour Milk solids
  • Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • Sweet Whey
  • Whey
  • Whey Powder
  • Whey protein concentrate
  • Whey protein hydrolysate
  • Zinc Caseinate
  • Baby Formula and Baby Food, Bakery goods like muffins, scones, cookies and some breads. Though yeast breads appear safe, one of the most common dough conditioners utilized in bread is whey, a milk protein. Some loaves and rolls may contain milk, dry milk powder, cheese or buttermilk. Baking mixes (pancakes, cakes, biscuits) should also be checked for ingredients that may contain milk and other milk products.
  • Bath Products – Body and hair Cleansers & shampoo’s, conditioners and lotions often contain milk products and should be avoided as they can cause eczema.
  • Beer- may contain lactose, which adds sweetness, body, and calories to the finished beer. It can also be known sometimes as Milk Stout or Cream Stout.
  • Breath mints – A few of these do contain casein related ingredients. Candy and sweet labels should also be checked before consumption.
  • Canned Tuna Fish – A few contain hydrolyzed caseinate.
  • Caramel – It may be made from sugar and water or milk.
  • Cereal – Dry and instant cereals vary significantly in ingredients. Some types may contain milk ingredients.
  • Cheese Alternatives – Some brands of cheese alternatives (whether soy. rice, or almond based) are lactose-free, but still contain milk protein (casein) to create a more cheese-like consistency and texture.
  • Chewing Gum – Some brands do contain milk proteins.
  • Chicken Broth – Several brands use milk proteins or solids.
  • Chocolate – Milk chocolate aside, some semi-sweet and dark chocolate brands also contain milk ingredients. Chocolate drinks – Even the non milk varieties may contain a bit of dairy to make them more substantial.
  • Clothing – Some clothes are made from with eco-fabrics that are made from milk protein.
  • Coffee Whiteners/Creamers, Cookies/Crackers/Cream Liqueurs- These are some products to check ingredient labels for as well, as they often contain milk and milk products.
  • Custards and Puddings – Most of them contain milk ingredients.
  • Drugs/Medication – Lactose is sometimes used as a filler/base for prescription drugs and OTC medications (including antihistamines). Be sure to ask the pharmacist to review the ingredients of the prescription.
  • Egg Substitute – Some brands may be made from or or contain whey.
  • Fried Foods – The bread crumbs used in fried foods may contain cheese or any number of mysterious substances.
  • Granola and Nutrition Bars – May contain milk additives.
  • Gravies – Some contain milk solids for flavour and texture.
  • Hot Cocoa Mix – The best varieties are pure cocoa and sugar, but some may contain milk ingredients for a creamier drink.
  • Hot Dogs/Imitation crab meat/Imitation maple syrup – Pure maple syrup is a safer selection.
  • Instant Potatoes – Many varieties contain milk products, most notably the Au Gratin or sour cream.
  • Kosher Parve Desserts – Most parve foods are safe, but those with highly sensitive milk allergies may have a problem with the desserts in particular.
  • Latex Gloves – Some disposable latex gloves have milk protein (casein) in them.
  • Lactose Free Milk – Lactose free does not mean dairy free, these will still be loaded with milk proteins.
  • Processed meat & Sausages – Some “meat allergies” are actually dairy allergies in disguise. Lactose and milk protein (caseinate’s) are fairly common in processed meats, and milk powder is sometimes used as a filler.
  • Margarine – A few contain dairy derivatives, and most are rich in hydrogenated oils.
  • Meal Replacement/Protein Powders & Beverages – Whey and dried milk powder are the two most common dairy ingredients in these drinks.
  • Potato Chips – Flavoured varieties, which may contain buttermilk, whey or cheese are to be strictly avoided.
  • Salad Dressings – Milk components or cheese may be added for flavour or thickening to any dressing or vinaigrette.
  • Sherbet – This is different from sorbet, which is typically dairy free. Sherbet almost always contains some amount of milk and/or cream.
  • Soup – Obviously the creamy varieties are of concern, but even some of the tomato and chicken based soups are not dairy free.
  • Soy “Meat” Products – Veggie hot dogs, sausages, and patties may harbor milk proteins, lactose or even cheese for flavor and texture.
  • Spice Mixes – Some contain whey powder.
  • Sugar Substitutes – Some sweeteners, such as tagatose are derived from dairy foods (lactose in this case). Also, certain forms of some sugar substitutes such as Splenda, Mints and certain brands of Stevia, contain lactose (in very small quantities) as a filler ingredient.
  • Toothpaste – Recaldent is a casein containing ingredient that is sometimes added for cavity prevention.
  • Wax Coating on Fruits & Vegetables- Small amounts of soy or milk protein (casein) are often added to the wax in the production process.
  • Whipped Topping – Within FDA regulations, the term ” non dairy” may be utilized on some foods, such as whipped toppings and creamers, which do in fact contain casein.
  • Wine – Some wines contain milk that may trigger allergic reactions. Vegan and kosher wines are a good place to start when seeking milk free wines. Visit (www.barnivore.com) or Vegans are from Mars
  • (www.vegans.frommars.org) to view their vegan wine guide.
Advertisements

One thought on “Is Milk Really Doing My Body Good?

  1. Good luck to you! There's lots of great dairy alternatives. I'm eating a slice of faux cheese pizza right now! I feel you on the lactaid pills. I still feel a little uncomfortable even when I do take one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s